Yogi: Verbal Analysis

By Erika Goering,

  Filed under: KCAI, Learning, User Experience
  Comments: Comments Off on Yogi: Verbal Analysis

Eight Limbs

  • Yama: universal morality
  • Niyama: personal sensitivity
  • Asanas: body postures
  • Pranayama: breathing exercises
  • Pratyahara: control of the senses
  • Dharana: concentration and inner awareness
  • Dhyana: meditation
  • Samadhi: spiritual or transcendent


Spiritual Terms:

  • Moksha: Hinduism freedom from the endless cycle of transmigration into a state of bliss
  • Brahman: the one supreme universal spirit that is the origin and support of the phenomenal universe
  • Om: the sound and symbol for the seventh chakra (crown); represents open mindedness and transcendence


Religious Affiliations:

  • Hinduism: a diverse body of religion, philosophy, and cultural practice native to and predominant in India, characterized by a belief in reincarnation and a supreme being of many forms and natures by the view that opposing theories are aspects of one eternal truth, and by a desire for liberation from earthly evils
  • Jainism: an Indian religion that prescribes a path of nonviolence toward all human beings
  • Buddhism: a religion and philosophy encompassing a variety of traditions, beliefs, and practices largely based on teachings attributed to Buddha



  • Yogi: a yoga practitioner
  • Guru: yogi with a great deal of knowledge, wisdom, and authority

Comments are closed for this post.